About Us

Faculty of Law - A Brief Introduction

The Faculty of Law was established in 1924 by University of Delhi. Dr. Hari Singh Gaur, was its first Dean and was also the Vice Chancellor of the University. The Faculty of Law was initially located in the Prince's Pavilion in the Old Vice Regal Lodge Grounds, where presently the Anthropology Department is housed. In 1963 it was moved to its present location on Chhatra Marg, North Campus, University of Delhi. In 2015 the University of Delhi allotted one more building, Umang Bhawan, at a distance of about 500 meters from the old premise on the Chhatra Marg to the Faculty of Law. From the Academic year 2018, LL.B. classes of all the three Law Centres will be held in these two buildings. There is proposal to construct two separate buildings for LC-I and LC-II in different parts of the city in due course. The Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) Degree Course was initially treated as a two-year part-time Course and the teaching was conducted in the morning with ten teachers. The evening classes commenced in the year 1942. Two new courses, viz. Degree of Bachelor of Civil Laws (B.C.L.) and Certificate of Proficiency (Law) were made full-time Courses, though classes were held both in the morning as well as in the evening. With the enactment of the Advocates Act, 1961, the Certificate of Proficiency (Law) Course was abolished. The B.C.L. Degree Course was also discontinued in the year 1966. In 1944, one year Master of Laws (LL.M.) was introduced. The LL.M. Course was made a full-time two-year Course in the year 1947. This course continues till date and is meant for full time students not engaged in any trade, profession, business, or employment, etc. Mid-Sixties saw the introduction of two year course titled Master of Comparative Laws (M.C.L.) for foreign students. Around the same time LL.M. (Three Year) was introduced to enable working persons to acquire the LL.M. degree by studying the same courses of LL.M. (Two Year) spread over a period of three years. The year 1966 was memorable in the history of the Faculty of Law and legal education in the country. The then Dean, Prof. P.K. Tripathi and his team of dedicated teachers adopted and implemented almost all the recommendations of Justice Gajendragadkar Committee on Legal Education, 1964 (appointed by the then Vice-Chancellor, Dr. C.D. Deshmukh). The two-year LL.B. Course was converted into three year (six semesters) Course. With Prof. Upendra Baxi joining the Faculty of Law in 1975, the Faculty of Law became the hub of social-legal approach to the study of law promoting understanding of law in the context of society and the interplay of law and society. LL.B. in University of Delhi is a three year post-graduate programme. Admission to LL.B. is made strictly on the basis of merit in the Entrance Exam conducted by University of Delhi every year. 

Establishment of the Law Centre - I

The Faculty of Law held all morning and evening classes in the Law Faculty building on Chhatra Marg prior to 1970. With the demand for increase of seats in LL.B., Law Centre-I was established in the year 1970 with 600 seats and held its classes in the evening in a building in Kashmere Gate. Soon it was relocated in a School at Mandir Marg. In 1994, Law Centre-1 was relocated to the main Campus of Faculty of Law on Chhatra Marg. The year 2015 saw allocation of another five story building to Law Faculty, namely, Umang Bhawan, by the University of Delhi. Umang Bhawan is at a walking distance of about 500 meters from the old premise of Law Faculty on Chhatra Marg, North Campus of University of Delhi. Umang Bhawan is equipped with all the modern amenities like elevators, CCTV cameras, spacious and modern classroom with multi-media facilities, etc.

Despite establishment of three Law Centres which include Law Centre - I, Law Centre - II, and Campus Law Centre, Faculty of Law is a single department with the Dean being the Head of the Department also. Each Law Centre has its own Professor-in-Charge responsible for day to day functioning of the Law Centres. Teaching of LL.M, M.C.L., and Ph.D. and the responsibility of co-ordination and supervision of the functioning of the three Law Centres is with the Dean and Head of the Faculty of Law. Law Centre - I offers three year LL.B. course which is a full-time professional course recognized and regulated by the Legal Education Rules 2008 of the Bar Council of India. The BCI permits classes to be held at any time from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Presently all classes for students of Law Centre-I  are conducted in Umang Bhawan from 2 pm to 7.30 pm. The timings and venue of classes for any Centre may be changed at any time without prior notice as permitted by the BCI in the buildings allocated to Faculty of Law by the University of Delhi.

Previous page: Home
Next page: Message from the Professor-in-Charge